2012 Lab

The second year of the Lab, held May 31st – June 3rd, 2012 at the Tarragon Theatre in downtown Toronto was another success. 25 directors from all over Canada, the US and Germany dedicated 4 days to exploring ideas, sharing knowledge, and igniting inspiration for the theatre.

Lab Topics

Playwright/Director Relationship
with Brad Fraser

Masterclass: The Director as Dramaturg in New Works
with Nina Lee Aquino

Masterclass: The Theatre in Canada
with Matthew Jocelyn

Preparing a Script
with Eda Holmes

Artistic Director Panel
with Philip Akin, Brendan Healey and Tina Rasmussen

Designer/Director Relationship
with Cami Koo, Jung-Hye Kim, Michelle Ramsey, Thomas Ryder Payne, Ken MacKenzie, Richard Lee and Lyon Smith

In the pictures below: Brad Fraser speaks to the Lab about the Playwright/Director Relationship (1). Matthew Jocelyn discusses the state of the theatre in Canada (2). The Artistic Director Panel with panelists Philip Akin, Tina Rasmussen and Brendan Healey (3). A moment from Nina Lee Aquino’s Masterclass on the Director as Dramaturg (4). Fellow Lab Members during “Shared Sessions”, a series of workshops where Lab members share knowledge and techniques with the Lab. Topics this year ranged from Laban to Shakespeare (5-9).

Lab Participants

Aviva Armour-Ostroff
Alice Bever
Jill Carter
Rod Ceballos
Trevor Copp
Evan Cummings
Joel Fishbane
Monique Fisher
Jessica Glanfield
Charlotte Gowdy
Christopher Jackman
Nancy Jones
Michelle Hawkings Jones
Janet Kish
Annie G. Levy
Deborah Magid
Natasha Martina
Jon Michaelson
Elenna Moseff
Morgan Norwich
Leonie Pichler
Christina Pichler
Karin Randoja
Nathan Schwartz
Jay Stern
David Tompa
Rona Waddington

DLN is grateful to its supporters

Special thanks to Shelly Meichenbaum our weekend volunteer, and our dedicated Steering Committee Stephanie Graham, Andrew Lamb and Rupal Shah.

Special thank you to Tarragon Theatre for their continued generous donation of their rehearsal spaces to house the second year of the Lab.